Celebrating Our 140th Anniversary Through Pictures

We continue our celebration of Park University’s 140th anniversary through pictures with a look at Mackay Hall. Below is a photo from the early construction of the iconic building, with a number of students throughout the scene, working in true Park fashion. Construction on the building took place over a period of seven years, completed in 1893. It is currently home to administrative offices as well as classrooms and offices for the Park University School of Business and Department of Political Science, but Mackay has undergone a number of renovations in the ensuing years.

Although the interior has undergone the majority of the changes – the basement originally housed scientific laboratories while the third floor was home to four literary society halls – the exterior has seen a few changes as well. Thermal windows were added in 1994, and in 2002 the roof was completely redone with an eye to historical accuracy. The slate shingles were removed, the roof completely resheathed, and the metal trim was refinished. The finishing touches included re-shingling the roof with slate and rebuilding the facade of the clock tower.

As Park University Archivist Carolyn Elwess described, Park University and Mackay Hall are inseparable.

It is impossible to imagine the Park University campus without Mackay Hall. It is the heart and soul of the school and stands as a tribute to the strength, perseverance and faith of those who envisioned and built its walls and towers. The story of its construction should serve as an inspiration to all who work and study here, both now and in the future.

A Tale of Endurance:
The Story of Mackay Hall

Friday marks the 122nd anniversary of the opening of Mackay Hall, but that is not the only reason we are sharing this photo. This week, we began a renovation of the clock tower that sits atop Mackay Hall. Scheduled for completion in May 2015, this project is funded entirely through private donations.

This renovation project is one of the first launched through our Club 1000 giving society. Donations to Club 1000 are used at the discretion of the President to support a wide variety of initiatives that help advance Park University. We are thankful for the help of our 39 current Club 1000 members and we are excited to see Park continue to innovate and thrive through the next 140 years!

A photo of the early construction of Mackay Hall. Although professional masons were employed for the construction of the walls, students quarried and transported the limestone.

A photo of the early construction of Mackay Hall. Although professional masons were employed for the construction of the walls, students quarried and transported the limestone.

Advertisements